MTBank CJSC was established on March 14, 1994 and became the first bank in the Republic of Belarus with the participation of foreign capital. Currently, the customer service is conducted in 127 branches of the bank, located throughout the country. MTBank CJSC is a member of the Association of Belarusian Banks, Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication (SWIFT), international payment systems VISA International and MasterCard. In 2016, MTBank received the title of the best Belarusian bank, becoming the Grand Prize winner of the Bank of the Year-2015 Award.


At the end of March 2015, investment companies Zubr Capital (the majority shareholder through the SMH fund) and Horizon Capital successfully sold their MTBank shares. Belarusian businessmen Alexey Oleksin and Inna Oleksina became new beneficial owners of the bank. During the work of Zubr Capital, MTBank had become one of the most successful and innovative banks in Belarus.